Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration

Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration Empty
PostSubject: Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration   Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration Empty2015-05-22, 21:26

No fewer than 50 world leaders are
expected to attend the
inauguration of the President-
elect, Muhammadu Buhari, on
Friday next week.
The Chairman of the Media and
Publicity Sub-Committee of the
Presidential Inauguration Planning
Committee and Minister of Culture
and Tourism, Chief Edem Duke,
stated this at a news conference in
Abuja on Friday.
Activities for the inauguration
began on Friday with a Jumaat
prayer at the National Central
Mosque, Abuja.
Duke said invitation cards had been
sent to all the 54 countries in the
Africa and other countries of the
world.
He stated, “As we speak, the 54
countries of the continent of Africa
have been invited. Very many of
the heads of state will be coming.
There has been a huge interest,
especially from heads of countries
in Europe to attend this
inauguration.
“At the last count, I think we must
have in excess of about 50 Heads of
State and delegation expected at
this inauguration.”
According to him, a high security
strategy is being put in place for a
hitch-free exercise.
Duke stated that all invitees for the
various segments of the
inauguration would be thoroughly
screened to avoid what happened
during the 50th independence
anniversary of Nigeria in 2010,
when there was a bomb blast near
Eagle Square.
The minister said some roads in the
Federal Capital Territory would be
blocked on the inauguration day to
ensure smooth movement to and
from the Eagle Square, venue of the
inauguration.
Duke said, “The security agencies
are working in close concert to
ensure that there is absolutely no
threat to the security of this
inauguration. Arrangements are
being made to screen all the
invitees long before they access
the perimeters of the location.”
He also stated that television
screens would be placed in
strategic places in the Federal
Capital Territory for uninvited
people to watch the inauguration.
“There is also a plan that in some
locations within the city there
might be big screens for members
of the public to follow the activities
of the swearing-in, especially. So
people don’t need to come to the
Eagle Square if they don’t have
invitation cards,” the minister
added.
He also denied a media report
claiming that the inauguration
would gulp N3bn.
According to him, less than N2bn
will be spent for a befitting
inauguration.
He said, “If we tell you the amount
we are spending, you will be
shocked. We are not even spending
N3bn, not even up to N2bn. In any
case, if we tell you, what are you
going to do with it?”
When asked to disclose the exact
amount, the minister declined.

PostSubject: Re: Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration   Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration Empty2015-05-22, 22:51

den don dey start abi...
irondehero42

PostSubject: Re: Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration   Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration Empty2015-05-23, 00:36

Hahahaha Always an African

PostSubject: Re: Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration   Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration Empty2015-05-23, 04:55

Hmm, hands crossed.

PostSubject: Re: Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration   Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration Empty

Over 50 world leaders to attend Buhari’s inauguration