Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup

Starpryde

Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty
PostSubject: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 05:40

After months of berating the
administration of President
Goodluck Jonathan, former
President Olusegun Obasanjo has
declared his support for the
presidential candidate of the All
Progressives Congress, Maj. Gen.
Muhammadu Buhari (retd.).
Obasanjo, who is a member of the
Peoples Democratic Party, made his
opinion known during an interview
with the Financial Times at the
launch of his controversial
autobiography titled, ‘My Watch’, in
Nairobi, Kenya.
Obasanjo said Buhari, who ruled
Nigeria between December 1983
and August 1985, was aware of the
challenges of Nigeria today and
was qualified to rule the country.
He said, “The circumstances he
(Buhari) will be working under if he
wins the elections are different
from the one he worked under
before, where he was both the
executive and the legislature – he
knows that. He is smart enough. He
is educated enough. He’s
experienced enough. Why
shouldn’t I support him?”
Obasanjo said he was confident
that Buhari would be able to
effectively tackle corruption and
insecurity.
The former President said Buhari
would restore the morale of the
military which, he said, was needed
in the fight against terrorism.
He said President Goodluck
Jonathan betrayed the armed
forces by allowing corruption to
undermine their operations.
He said, “It is a question of
leadership – political and military. I
think you need to ask Jonathan how
he let the army go to this extent. 
Many things went wrong:
recruitment went wrong; training
went wrong; morale went down;
motivation was not there;
corruption was deeply ingrained;
andwelfare was bad.”
Obasanjo added that he was
saddened by the rate at which the
nation’s resources were dwindling,
adding that when he left office,
Nigeria had $45bn in its reserve but
the resources had been depleted
by more than half despite the
increase in oil prices.
Reacting to the postponement of
the elections by the Independent
National Electoral Commission for
security reasons and a better
distribution of Permanent Voter
Cards, Obasanjo said he hoped the
Federal Government was being
truthful.
He urged Jonathan to put the
interest of the nation ahead of his
own ambition.
He said warned that manipulating
the electoral process could lead to
a coup d’etat, adding that the May
29 handover date remained
sacrosanct.
“I sincerely hope that the President
is not going for broke and saying
‘look dammit, it’s either I have it or
nobody has it’. I hope that we will
not have a coup. I hope we can
avoid it,” he said.

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 06:21

baba Iyabo just says the trust nw

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 08:11

Well said.
Starpryde

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 17:12

Another reason I cannot vote for Buhari.

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 18:30

look at kettle calling pot black

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 18:52

faithchild wrote:
look at kettle calling pot black
abi o, I taya 4 dem o

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 19:04

Starpryde wrote:
Another reason I cannot vote for Buhari.
20manlotto

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 19:11

All I believe is that, GEJ we win this election
20manlotto

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 19:14

Obasanjo continue to say anything you like
Wen you are there what yoruba people gain from you

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 19:25

20manlotto wrote:
dat's just a wish

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 19:35

20manlotto wrote:
dat's just a wish
Drunkard words i think.

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 19:37

20manlotto wrote:
dat's just a wish
Drunkard words i think...

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 19:40

eddyvic wrote:
20manlotto wrote:
dat's just a wish
who dey drink o eddy boy?

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-11, 22:10

eddyvic wrote:
20manlotto wrote:
dat's just a wish
20 man i think, lol... Just kidding
20manlotto

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-12, 02:42

eddyvic wrote:
20manlotto wrote:
dat's just a wish
Welder you like it or not GEJ is the answer

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty2015-02-12, 04:28

20manlotto wrote:
eddyvic wrote:
20manlotto wrote:
dat's just a wish
Welder you like it or not GEJ is the answer
4get it jor, GMB is the answer.

PostSubject: Re: Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup   Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup Empty

Obasanjo endorses Buhari, warns against coup