HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W

+50
hybayodedavid2
SUREMAJESTY
Ekwuemeamos
Awt
Aguokoli
drbayo
bode4real
Thuggish ruggish
gateway
Stone Ola
chopup
Lionsheart
bykee
kol39
therealmii
1me
Banker
bissallah
Roykay
ugotuf
engrvirus
komez
ROTMANLUV
jascosix
moriztuos
adex70
exga
jakes775
khay
techniqueman
maclee4real
54 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
maclee4real

HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2013-08-24, 12:31

WELCOME TO THE HOME OF SHARING IDEAS, SHARING TALENTS AND NOT SHARING ABUSES AND INSULTS

Please this post is not for people who wants to learn how to solder, and for people that cannot identify the simplest components.
So as the founder of the post I would like to start up with a simple 250 to 5000 watts PWM DC – AC 220v power inverter. I hope this forum allows the display of .jpg and .pdf file -The schematic circuit design is for a 250 watt output, while the pics are of my 1500 watts inverter that i built, to increase the power of the circuit you have to add more of the Q7 and Q8 transistors in parallel, each pair you add will increase your power by 250 watts, ex: to get 750 watts of power from the inverter you need to add 2 of Q7 and 2 of Q8 to the original design.

--If you increase the power transistors you have to enlarge the T2 transformer to match the new needs, the circuit's transformer is rated 25 amps to handle 250 watts of 220v, for every 1 additional amp you need on the 220v side you have to increase 10 amps on the 12v side, of course there are limits to the thickness of the winding so if you need more than 750 watts i recommend that you use a 24VDC supply instead of 12 volts:

DC voltage and Transformer "T2" winding recommendation:
Power Supply Winding
750w 12VDC P:24V "12-0-12" / S:220V
1500w 24VDC P:48V "24-0-24" / S:220V
2250w 36VDC P:72V "36-0-36" / S:220V
3000w 48VDC P:96V "48-0-48" / S:220V
3750w 60VDC P:120V "60-0-60" / S:220V
4500w 72VDC P:144V "72-0-72" / S:220V
5250w 84VDC P:168V "84-0-84" / S:220V
*The transformer should be "center tapped" at the primary side.
**You can make the secondary 110v if needed.
***The transformer in the pic is a custom made (48V center tapped / 220v ) 2000 watts

--R1 is to set the PWM to 220v
--R2 is to set the frequency to 50 or 60 Hz

--Use either tantalum or polyester film "as in pic" for the 104 caps, ceramic disc caps change value once hot and this in turn changes the frequency of the inverter so they are not recommended.
--Wiring should be thick enough to handle the huge amps drain from the batteries.
--The design does not include a battery charger since each person will be building a custom version of the inverter with specific power needs.
--A cooling fan will be needed to reduce heat off the heat sinks and transformer, i recommend getting a 220v fan and connecting it to the output T2 transformer, when you power up the circuit the fan will start this will always give you a simple way to know that 220v is present and everything is OK..

--2 circuit breakers are recommended instead of fuses, one on the DC side and one on the AC side, depending on your design
Ex: for a 24vDC ( 1500 watts design ) put a 60Amp breaker on the DC side and a 6Amp on the AC side.
For every 1amp of 220vAC you will be draining like 8 to 10 Amps from the 12v battery, make your calculations !

-- The 2 Heat sinks should be big enough to cool the transistors, they are separate and should NOT touch each other.

--Be cautious when building this circuit it involves high voltage which is lethal, any part you touch when the circuit is ON could give you a nasty painful jolt, specially the heat-sinks, never touch them when the circuit is on to see if the transistors are hot !!

therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2014-04-22, 12:37

there was a simple inverter circuit i posted here above, actually the schematic is for those that are interested in inverter. In electronics, converting from DC - AC is very difficult but converting from AC - DC is so simple. That diagram will teach you how to convert from DC - AC then you can modify it if you want to. . Please lets start with that. N1000 is not much for you the spend on the components to acquire the knowledge. I'm not asking for your money. use it for yourself if you have the time.

lets me know if there is any problem
Ekwuemeamos

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-15, 11:44

I need a step-by-step guide on this please PM me.

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-15, 13:43

Hmm, since 2014.........
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-15, 14:26

Yes u may say that, since 2014. The reason is because I was blocked for trying to share knowledge, I started this thread with the mind of sharing, I had to stop visiting this site.
@Ekwu, it all depends on ur knowledge about electronics and inverters, then I will know where to start from.
Maclee4real and therealmii is the same person.

PostSubject: Inverter   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-15, 14:54

Oh ok! i didn't know it's u...... I've been follow the tread since it was created & have also faced what you experieced onhere sometimes ago but all thanks to ancl, he is a great leader.

Back to the matter; kindly teach us how to go about it cos i like inverter so much.

Last edited by eddyvic on 2016-05-15, 15:01; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : in addition)
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-15, 15:32

Ok, I posted a diagram online sometime ago, I want u to go through it tell me any component u can't identify on the diagram. Let's start from there

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-15, 17:28

Good tutorial

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-15, 21:07

Ok boss.

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 09:44

Good morning @ therealmii; I have check the diagram but it's a pity i don't understand anything except the transformer maybe is bcos i'm not an electrical student .... i studied mech . engine
Please is there any hope for someone like me on this tread ?
SUREMAJESTY

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 09:47

Good info
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 10:07

eddyvic wrote:
Good morning @ therealmii; I have check the diagram but it's a pity i don't understand anything except the transformer maybe is bcos i'm not an electrical student .... i studied mech . engine

Its okay, you can still learn if you devote your time. First of all, get a small digital multi meter, soldering iron, lead, matrix board. Then go online, browse resistor colour codes print it keep it for reference another link where u can find out details about components like diode, transistors, mosfet, etc is [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] I will send you a simple DC to AC conversion circuit diagram to start with.
Wish u luck
hybayodedavid2

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 10:08

@ maclee4real , is this inverter cct diagram a pure sine wave? Also i need your number pls ,my email: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
SUREMAJESTY

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 10:23

That is good idear

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 10:26

therealmii wrote:
eddyvic wrote:

Its okay, you can still learn if you devote your time. First of all, get a small digital multi meter, soldering iron, lead, matrix board. Then go online, browse resistor colour codes print it keep it for reference another link where u can find out details about components like diode, transistors, mosfet, etc is [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] I will send you a simple DC to AC conversion circuit diagram to start with.
Wish u luck

Ok, thanks for ur reply ....... Will inform u immediately i got all u said i should get.
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 10:34

No, its not. It is a pulse width modulation inverter, we can say a modified sine wave. Getting a pure sine wave has to do with running a program into the chip. I was working on that, had to purse for a while, because the programmer I bought I couldn't operate it. So right now as I'm talking to u, I placed an order from aliexpress.com once I receive it I will continue the work. My main aim is to get a pure sine wave inverter. For now I have not done any pure sine wavewave.
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 10:36

hybayodedavid2 wrote:
@ maclee4real , is this inverter cct diagram a pure sine wave? Also i need your number pls ,my email: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
My

Last edited by therealmii on 2016-05-19, 19:41; edited 1 time in total
hybayodedavid2

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 15:27

therealmii wrote:
hybayodedavid2 wrote:
My email is [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] and phone number is 08037955537

Thanks, I'll call you

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-16, 19:27

Keep it up...no noise if u r scammed o

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-17, 06:12

Good morning
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-17, 11:16

Keep it up...no noise if u r scammed o

hello smile2012, Thanks for bringing that up. I will never ask anybody for money to build the project, if you follow the thread you will find out when i said i wont build for anybody. will only direct you how to get your components but won't get it for you. Please I created this to help develop us.
thanks
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-17, 12:26

This is a basic and very simple low power inverter to convert 12V DC to 220V AC. How much this inverter can handle the load depends the transformer.

Component Parts:
C1, C2 : 68 uf, 25 V Tantalum Capacitor
R1, R2 : 10 Ohm, 5 Watt Resistor
R3, R4 : 180 Ohm, 1 Watt Resistor
D1, D2 : HEP 154 Silicon Diode
Q1, Q2 : 2N3055 NPN Transistor (see “Notes”)
T1 : 24V (12V-0-12V), Center Tapped Transformer
Misc:
Wire, Case, Receptacle (for output)
Fuses, Heatsinks, etc.

Note: Don’t try to run inductive loads (motors) using this inverter. That is, appliances using coils

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-18, 13:20

Thanks so much for the explanation.
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-19, 19:42

U r welcome
Ayusguy
Ayusguy

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-20, 04:34

therealmii wrote:
U r welcome

Pm me your number...
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-20, 14:47

Ayusguy wrote:
therealmii wrote:
U r welcome

Pm me  your number...

I'm so sorry sir, I'm not trying to be rude, Please I want us to keep this thread alive and going, so I prefer we do all discussion here so that others can also learn from the question you ask.
thanks

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 05:44

therealmii wrote:
This is a basic and very simple low power inverter to convert 12V DC to 220V AC. How much this inverter can handle the load depends the transformer.

Component Parts:
C1, C2 : 68 uf, 25 V Tantalum Capacitor
R1, R2 : 10 Ohm, 5 Watt Resistor
R3, R4 : 180 Ohm, 1 Watt Resistor
D1, D2 : HEP 154 Silicon Diode
Q1, Q2 : 2N3055 NPN Transistor (see “Notes”)
T1 : 24V (12V-0-12V), Center Tapped Transformer
Misc:
Wire, Case, Receptacle (for output)
Fuses, Heatsinks, etc.

Note: Don’t try to run inductive loads (motors) using this inverter. That is, appliances using coils

How many watts can we call this inverter so as to know the type of loads to put on it ?
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 06:42

The power transistor is 115W, so the power rating is 100W, is u must increase it, u have to connect more transistors parallel to Q1 and Q2, then use a bigger transformer.
The author of this message was banned from the forum - See the message

PostSubject: In addition   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 13:27

therealmii wrote:
The power transistor is 115W, so the power rating is 100W, is u must increase it, u have to connect more transistors parallel to Q1 and Q2, then use a bigger transformer.

alright thanks........ Please do u have an open picture or orthogonal view of one of the inverter you've built ? if so, PM me your whatsapp number to share.

I mean the board itself that consist of the driver stage, power & transformer.
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 14:30

i will get it ASAP

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 14:44

therealmii wrote:
i will get it ASAP

Will be expecting it sir.
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 21:44

therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 21:53

This is my first pure sine wave inverter, make una never hail me yet (e no work). like I said getting a pure sine wave, u must use a microcontroller and program it. getting my programmer to do the work is the problem, had to leave it then but right now i'm back to it again. I ordered another programmer from aliexpress, once it comes i will continue. as you can see i made my own (PCB) to make the job easier and neater. as it is now if i no tell una, una go think say na white man do the PCB. as soon as i get this to work, i will make a charging circuit and add other features and the inverter is good to go.
hybayodedavid2

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 22:55

Nice one,its a matter of time, it will work keep it up,
hybayodedavid2

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-23, 23:03

Nice one, its will work , its a matter of time, keep it up

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-24, 06:02

Thanks for the pics... This is exactly where am going, how did u made ur PCB ?
How come did the chematic diagram get on the board ?

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-24, 07:39

Not bad..

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-24, 13:44

eddyvic wrote:

???

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-24, 19:27

The best to ve now is inverter...The truth

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-24, 19:58

YES OOO

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-25, 11:06

eddyvic wrote:

???
??
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-25, 14:59

hybayodedavid2 wrote:
Nice one, its will work , its a matter of time, keep it up
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-25, 15:22

eddyvic wrote:
Thanks for the pics...  This is exactly where am going, how did u made ur PCB ?
How come did  the chematic diagram get on the board ?
Lol, hahahahahahaha. Its simple, first of all, u can use software like diptrace, multisim or Tina application to design ur circuit on PC, then get a transfer paper, one side of the paper is some how laminated or u can use magazine, print it with LaserJet printer don't use deskjet or design jet. LaserJet is one printer that water can not affect the ink. Then place the paper on the circuit board and iron it, then put it in water and remove the paper, the paper will peel off leaving the ink on the board then put the board into copper sulphide it will chop the copper off the board leaving the part covered with the ink. The ink prevents the chemical from reacting with the copper. Na long story sha but e easy

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-25, 19:26

Laugh dey pain person ooo.
..lolz
Will like to hear everything concerning that to make the work neat like your previous uploaded pics to avoid too much wires.

therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-25, 21:37

Don't worry, its so easy. Just practice with the cct I gave to u

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-26, 09:22

okay
SUREMAJESTY

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-26, 10:40

Who can articulate to me in a better language.
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-31, 14:26

SUREMAJESTY wrote:
Who can articulate to me in a better language.
Just point out the part you don't understand
beejay28

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-05-31, 18:05

I need 250 ah battery, pm me the price if u av
therealmii

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty2016-06-01, 12:01

Check online Konga.com

PostSubject: Re: HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W   HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W - Page 4 Empty

HOW TO BUILD AN INVERTER STARTING FROM 250W TO 5000W
Page 4 of 5Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next