how to hide folders on pc

9jatician

how to hide folders on pc Empty
PostSubject: how to hide folders on pc   how to hide folders on pc Empty2011-06-24, 21:29

Method 1 (the easy one)
1. Click “Start”, “Run,” and then
type cmd. When the command
prompt opens type “CD
C:Test” (replace “Test” with the
name of the folder you want to
hide.)
2. Now type “attrib file +s +h”
and replace “file” with the name
of the actual file name you would
like to hide.
3. Now, go back to C:Test and
look for your file or folder, it’s not
there! You cannot find it through
simply browsing around,
through the command prompt,
or even if you click“Show Hidden
Files and Folders”.
4. To find the folder and it’s
contents again simply go back to
the command prompt, type“CD
C:Test” (of course, again
replacing “Test” with the name
of the folder,) and then type
“attrib filename -s -h”. You
should now be able to find your
file again!
Method 2 (this is where it starts
to get slightly more difficult)
This method, unlike the previous
one, hidesan entire drive
instead of individual files or
folders:
(Before you ever use the registry
IHIGHLY RECOMMEND backing
up your registry with a tool
similar toRegistry Tool or
CCleaner. You may as well use a
manual method similar to this.)
1. Go to “Start,” “Run,” and type
regedit.
2. When the registry editor loads,
navigate to: HKEY_LOCAL_
MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftWindo
wsCurrentVersion
PoliciesExplorer
3. Right click on “Explorer” and
select “New” and “DWORD
Value.”
4. Name the value NoDrives and
select“Decimal” as the base.
5. In the value type the number
that corresponds with the drive
below:
(E.g. If you would like to hide
drive E, type 16. You may also
hide multiple drives by adding
the two numbers. E.g. If you
would like to hide drives E and G,
16+64=80.)
6. Now, after you restart your
computer, you should not be able
to see the drive.
Method 3
1. Create a folder in a drive for
easy access, e.g. C:. (Name it
something related to the Control
Panel, e.g. Users.)
2. Create a new file in Notepad
and copy and paste the following
into it:
ren Users Users.
{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-
A2DD-08002B30309D}
3. Replace “Users” with the name
of the folder you created and
save the file as loc.bat.
(You should now be able to see
your folder and theloc.bat file,
with the loc.bat in the same
directory as the folder Not in it.)
4. Now, right-click and create
another text file. Copy and Paste
the following into it:
ren Users.
{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-
A2DD-08002B30309D} Users
(Make sure to replace the word
“Users” with the name of your
folder.)
5. Save it as key.bat.
6. Now you should see the
loc.bat and the key.bat files in
the same directory as the folder
you created.
7. Now, all you need to do is
double-click on theloc.bat file
and the folder should have an
icon that looks like the control
panel. If you click on the folder it
should redirect you to the Control
Panel and thus you have locked
the folder.
8. Of course, to unlock it, simply
double-click on thekey.bat file
and the folder should turn back
into the folder you first created.
lock files in windows
Method 4
This final method allows users to
hide files in a JPEG image:
hide files in JPEG
1. Create a folder in C:, e.g.
C:Folder1.
2. Put all the files you want to
hide in there, as well as a JPEG
image that you would like to hide
the files in.
3. Select all of the files you want
to hide, and create a ZIP or RAR
file with them using a program
likeWinRAR, WinZip, 7Zip, etc.
4. Now you should have your
archive next to your files that you
want to hide, even though they
are in the archived file already,
with the JPEG image you would
like to hide all of this in.
5. Go to “Start,” “Run,” and type:
cmd.
6. Now type: cd , then type: cd
Folder1. (Of course, replace
Folder1 with the name of your
folder.)
7. Type the following: copy /b
myimage.JPG +
archivedthing.rar myimage.jpg
(Note: Replace the name
“myimage” with the name of
your image, and replace
“archivedthing” with the name
of your compressed file.)
8. You should receive a response
similar to the following:“1 file(s)
copied.”
9. To find the files in your image,
all you need to do is right-click
on the image and select“Open
With…” and select “WinRAR” or
the name of the program you
used to archive the original files.
https://naija.canadian-forum.com
9jatician

PostSubject: Re: how to hide folders on pc   how to hide folders on pc Empty2011-06-24, 21:35

1. Make the Folder Invisible (not
hidden)
This works both on Windows XP
and Vista, not sure about other
Win versions. What this will do is
make selected folder invisble, not
hidden. The folder will be only
visible when you try to highlight
it (see below). If you want to
make sure that no one discovers
it by chance then also move it to
the corner of the screen.
Make Windows Folder Invisible
How to Create Invisible Folder ?
1. Create a new folder.
2. Rename: Highlight the folder
and Click‘F2′ button. Hold the
‘Alt’ key and type in 0160 (you
won’t see those 0160 numbers
while typing them). Press Enter.
Note, you have to use the
numpad to enter these numbers.
3. Change icon: Righ click the
folder >> Properties >>
Customize >> Change the icon >>
Select the blank one >> Ok.
Change Folder Icon
4. Done.
Hide Folders/Files in Images
This trick has been around for a
while and there are plenty of
tutorials out there. 1. First compress the file using
your favorite compression
program.
2. Move the archive (some-
archive.zip) and the image you
want to use to for hiding the files
(some-image.jpg) to the folder of
your choice.
3. Open Windows command
prompt:‘ Start >> Run >> cmd ‘
4. Navigate to the folder from
step 2. If you are not familiar
with the command line
commands, then use‘cd ..’ to go
one level upwards and ‘cd folder_
name‘ to go one level down. This
should be enough to get you to
the right folder.
5. Once there, enter the following
command:
COPY /B some-image.jpg + some-
archive.zip new-image.jpg
Where the new-image.jpg is the
name of the final image that will
hold your files.
6. Confirm that everything went
smoothly by opening newly
created image file using your
favorite archive program.
7. Done.
https://naija.canadian-forum.com

PostSubject: Re: how to hide folders on pc   how to hide folders on pc Empty2011-06-24, 22:42

nice

PostSubject: Re: how to hide folders on pc   how to hide folders on pc Empty

how to hide folders on pc